RDi 7.1 trial version now available

A 60-day trial version of Rational Developer for System i V7.1, is now available for download on developerWorks (http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/downloads/r/rdi/learn.html). Enjoy!


4 Comments on “RDi 7.1 trial version now available”

  1. Wiley Ammons says:

    The link to download the trial version is labeled “multi-platform” but it seems to be a Windows only version of RDi. Why the “multi-platform” link?

    Are there plans to run RDi on Linux, OS X? We’re an iSeries development shop that runs on Apple desktops. We have to keep a copy of Windows in Parallels for WDSc only.

    We would love to run RDi on OS X.

  2. Hi Wiley – We do have an open requirement for RDi running on Linux. The “multiplatform” link refers to multiple versions of Windows; I agree, it’s probably not the best term to use :).

  3. Robert Dean says:

    I would love to see RDi go cross-platform, but unfortunately, it wouldn’t provide a benefit in my case. We’re a Windows shop for client PCs.

    I’ve moved from Vista to Ubuntu on my home PC for most of my hobbyist programming, because Vista is way too slow at filesystem access.

  4. Ram says:

    1). Removing Data development perspective is a big bummer. We used it regularly. Yes there are alternatives…. Tried the alternative and the results are a) they work sometimes. but not all the time. b). RDi won’t even start. So I had to manually uninstall the plugins, edit one of those xml files to remove references to the plugins and re-start.
    2). Removing XML development. I understand that XML is used more in a web environment. In our case, I have a need to XML development. I write into an XML document using RPG. To make sure I am doing everything right or trying to figure out what went wrong when a user complains, I use the xml stuff. A lot of us do….
    3). and of course, now we have to pay for this stuff… cannot sell that to my boss.

    would love to hear what you guys think.


Leave a comment