WDSC Pin-up

The current issue (August 2007) of the IBM Systems Magazine, i5 Business Systems edition, has a “Favorite Keyboard Shortcuts for WDSC” pin-up created by System i Developer. Unfortunately I can’t find a link to it online, but the magazine subscription is free.

I’ve memorized all the standard Windows shortcuts and Eclipse navigation shortcuts but I can never seem to remember the LPEX shortcuts so I now have it pinned up in my PWA (personal work area, aka cubicle). I’m hoping it falls within the IBM guidelines of appropriate and non-confidential materials :)

The pin-up also lists the outline view as the the System i Developer’s favorite WDSC feature. Which got me thinking; what is my favorite WDSC feature? Outline view, application diagram (I’m biased on this one), and extensibility are definitely runner-ups. But my favorite feature is without a doubt service entry points!

So, what’s your favorite?

Updated  09/20: A PDF of the pin-up is available on the System i Developers website here.

2 Comments on “WDSC Pin-up”

  1. This week while working with a client to implement XML web services I realized I love the fact I don’t have to map a drive to the i5 or use the green screen to edit/view XML files – where would I be without my LPEX and other GUI editors available from RSE!

    On last note, what are YOU using SEP’s for? To debug RPG code on the i5 when it is called from Java? I guess I always thought of the WDSC dev staff being 90% Java programmers and less than 5% RPG which is probably a wrong assumption on my part because you would obviously need a decent amount of RPG knowledge to develop tools around the language. Would be cool to have team members do a technology bio about what they do at IBM and what tools/approaches they use to do it.

    Aaron Bartell
    http://mowyourlawncom

  2. Don Yantzi says:

    I do write some RPG code, but none of it actually gets shipped (which is probably a good thing!) This is usually for writing inputs for testcases for the RSE tools. For example, to test the editor, application diagram, web services, WebFacing, etc… functions we need a fairly wide variety of RPG source.

    And on Monday this week I started learning COBOL! (I needed to write some testcases for the Application Diagram).

    I really like the idea of a technology bio. That’ll be my next post. Interestingly, we try to do the same thing for RSE users. We have a bunch of “user roles” defined in or project database for “typical RSE users”, what their job role is, skills, development background (languages, tools) and how they learn.


Leave a Reply

